skip navigation

Men's And Women's 2018 First, Second And Third Team All-Stars

11/13/2018, 3:45pm EST
By League1 Ontario staff

An abundance of talent was on display in 2018, as eight clubs dominate the All-Star first team lists...

2018 League1 Ontario Women's All-Stars

2018 League1 Ontario Men's All-Stars

The 2018 League1 Ontario season was an absolute barn-burner, featuring a first-ever playoff format for the post-season and showcasing the province's top senior talent via 17 men's teams and 13 women's sides. 

When the dust settled on this epic season, Vaughan Azzurri captured the men's title in playoffs, while FC London were first in the regular season. Vaughan Azzurri will now go on to represent League1 in the 2018 Canadian Championship. 

On the women's side, Durham United FA toppled regular season leaders and defending league champions, FC London, on their way to a dramatic Championship Final triumph over Woodbridge Strikers.  

Eight clubs dominate the first team XI of All-Stars in both men's and women's divisions, with a heap of talent on display overall.

Vaughan Azzurri leads the All-Star First XI list with six players in total selected. On the men's side, attacking players' Austin Ricci and Dylan Sacramento joined up with rampaging right-back Jarred Phillips in a men's trio. On the women's side, Nour Ghoneim, Sarah Wong and Rachel Melhado created a formidable gold-star trio of their own.

Women's Golden Boot winner, Jade Kovacevic, once again led the way for FC London from the front this season and was joined on the women's First XI list by midfield playmaker extraordinaire, Julia Benati. London wasn't done there, with Mohammed Reza Nafar and Marko Maletic on the men's side making it an even four All-Stars in total on the first team lists from the Southern Ontario powerhouse. 

"The 2018 League1 Ontario season was an absolute barn-burner, featuring a first-ever playoff format for the post-season and showcasing the province's top senior talent via 17 men's teams and 13 women's sides."

Men's and women's division finalists, Woodbridge Strikers were well-represented in the First XIs with three decorated players. Midfielder April Syme and defender Diamond Simpson were key in the Strikers 2018 dominance, while men's keeper Robert Stillo provided a technical masterclass and continues Woodbridge's annual tradition of having top goalkeepers.  

Sigma FC had another outstanding season but were halted just short of the playoff final. Still, their talent was well-recognized with high-flying forward Kadell Thomas, midfield maestro Giuliano Frano and defensive general Dominic Samuel claiming First XI stars for the Mississauga academy.

Men's Golden Boot winner, Anthony Novak, had red-hot goal scoring form in 2018 and joined club-mate and Egyptian international sensation, Mahira Ali, to represent Oakville Blue Devils in the men's and women's end-of-year First XI lists.

Women's champs, Durham United, had two players in these lists, sending forth defensive rocks - defender Tamara Brown and keeper Sarah Petrucci. 

Two clubs put forth a single player each to the First XIs: DeRo United FA midfielder Katherine Koehler-Grassau earned her spot in a year-end midfield four, while Toronto FC III right-back and prolific scorer, Afram Gorgees, put his name on the back of the final All-Star first team shirt.

But that's not all! Check out the whole list of All-Stars, as the talent continued with another 29 top players decorated in the men's Second and Third teams, and a further 22 top players in the women's Second and Third teams.  

Congratulations to all 2018 League1 Ontario All-Stars and their respective clubs and organizations!

Tag(s): Home  News  2018 Archive  November  Mens  Aurora FC  Master's Futbol  OSU Force  Toronto Skillz FC  Vaughan Azzurri  Woodbridge Strikers  FC London  North Mississauga SC  Oakville Blue Devils  ProStars FC  Sanjaxx Lions  Sigma FC  TFC III  Windsor TFC  Womens  Aurora FC  Darby FC  Pickering FC  FC London  North Mississauga SC  Toronto Azzurri Blizzard  Unionville Milliken S.C.  Vaughan Azzurri  West Ottawa S.C.  Woodbridge Strikers  Darby FC  Unionville Milliken S.C.  Alliance United FC  Oakville Blue Devils  Hamilton United  DeRo United FC