skip navigation

Eighteen Woodbridge Strikers Women's League1 Players Accept Scholarships

02/20/2016, 2:00pm EST
By League1 Ontario staff

Woodbridge Soccer Club had a gala event Thursday evening to celebrate the successes of their women's class of 2016 (b.1998).

Woodbridge women's team head coach Joe Parolini has had a record number of players from the group accept full ride scholarships to NCAA D1 schools, with a small group also accepting offers at York University.

After three years of showcasing the group - touring 20 NCAA D1 schools, and playing friendlies with eight D1 schools, as well as the Ghana u17 WNT  in Decateur, Alabama before the 2014 U17 World Cup, and the Nigerian Sr WNT before the 2015 women's World Cup - Parolini ultimately had a group of 22 players receive offers from post-secondary schools. 


Led by League1 Ontario 2015 Young Player of the Year and Golden Boot winner Jessica Lisi, Woodbridge had an astounding 18 players from their 2015 League1 side accept scholarship offers north and south of the border.

Lisi, who was also selected for the Canada U17 program when she was just 15, has accepted an offer from NCAA DI school University of Memphis.

The full list of Woodbridge players from their League1 2015 team to sign commitments follows: 

Katharine Kerron, NCAA DI school Southern Methodist University; Jayda Hylton-Pelaia, NCAA DI school East Carolina University; Megan Conte, NCAA DI school East Carolina University; Julia Iaquinta, CIS school York University; Taylor Thalheimer, NCAA DI school Oakland University; Mikayla Morton, NCAA DI school University of Memphis; Brooke Miura, NCAA DI school Oakland University; Alanna Manning, NCAA DI school Alabama State; Lenny Yekka, NCAA DI school Southeastern University; Lisa Pechersky, NCAA DI school University of Memphis; Stephanie Lamanna, CIS school York University; Taylor Major, NCAA DI school Oral Roberts University; Kaylee Jamison, NCAA DI school Florida International University; Selena Mangoni, NCAA DI school University of Memphis; Michelle Travassos, NCAA DI school University of Cincinnati; Selena Benvenuto, NCAA DI school University of Massachusetts Lowell; Olivia DiCristofaro, NCAA DI school George Washington University.

Tag(s): News  Womens  Woodbridge Strikers  2016 Archive   February