skip navigation

League1 Ontario 2015 Awards Banquet

11/30/2015, 10:30am EST
By lo admin

League1 Ontario 2015 Awards Banquet

Mon Nov 30 
Written By: Staff, League1

League1 Ontario honoured standout players, coaches and teams at the 2015 Awards Banquet at Fontana Primavera Banquet Hall on Sunday November 29.

Awards were presented by special guests, including MLS Rookie of the Year and Canada Men's National team striker Cyle Larin, Canadian U23 National Team defender Johnathan Grant, Louisville City goalkeeper Greg Ranjitsingh, OSA president Ron Smale, executive director Johnny Misley, technical director Gary Miller, and League1 commissioner Dino Rossi.

All award winners had been chosen by a panel comprised of League1 Ontario head coaches. A full gallery of photos is available here

Golden Boot recipients were Woodbridge Strikers' Jessica Lisi (21 goals), Oakville's Filipe Vilela (20 goals) and ANB Futbol's Adonijah Reid (20) goals.

Lisi and Reid received additional honours as 2015 Young Players of the Year. 

With six players in the year-end all-star first team (Nora Abolins, Kayla De Souza, Briana De Souza, Hollie Babut, Geneva Winterink, Alexandria Lamontagne), title-winning Durham United F.C.'s women's team had a strong presence at the event, with Abolins also winning for League1 MVP and Goalkeeper of the Year, and captain Kayla De Souza winning Defender of the Year.

On the men's side, title and Inter-Provincial winning team Oakville Blue Devils had three players in the all-star first team (Filipe Vilela, Taylor McNamara, Al James), with Vilela also taking home the league MVP award to go with the men's Golden Boot - an award shared with ANB's Adonijah Reid as the two forwards tied on 21 goals each.

North Mississauga Panthers women and Woodbridge Strikers men were also honoured as L1 Cup champions.  

Woodbridge Strikers' Matt George was named men's Goalkeeper of the Year, while Sigma's Dominic Samuel received Defender of the Year honours. Coaches of the Year - Durham's Tony La Ferrerra and Vaughan's Carmine Isacco - were also on-hand to receive their awards. 

Goal of the Year awards were also handed out, with Durham's Taylor Potts winning for an acrobatic diving header on opening day, and Kingston Clippers' Joel Zelt for his late-season 35-yard piledriver vs. Woodbridge Strikers. A clip of the Goals of the Year is available here

Congratulations to all recipients of the League1 Ontario 2015 Awards!! 

Tag(s): News  2015 Archive  November  Mens  Aurora FC  Durham United FA  Kingston Clippers  Master's Futbol  North Mississauga SC  Oakville Blue Devils  ProStars FC  Sanjaxx Lions  Sigma FC  TFC III  Vaughan Azzurri  Windsor TFC  Woodbridge Strikers  East  West  North Toronto Nitros  Toronto Skillz FC  FC London