skip navigation

1812 FC Barrie joins L1O men's for 2021 season

By League1 Ontario, 02/24/21, 10:45AM EST


1812 FC Barrie.

Toronto, ON (February 24, 2021) - League1 Ontario is pleased to welcome 1812 Football Club, representing the Barrie and Huronia region, to the Men’s Premier Division for the 2021 season and the eighth campaign for the Provincial Division III league. This brings the total number of men’s teams to 21 with the recent announcement of Guelph United (Guelph), Scrosoppi FC (Milton), St. Catharines Roma Wolves (St. Catharines) and Waterloo United (Waterloo).

“We are very pleased to be able to announce 1812 FC as the latest addition to the League1Ontario Men's Premier Division,” said League1 Ontario Director, Dino Rossi.  “This organization has great potential, and we believe there is great excitement for League1 Ontario in the Barrie-Huronia region.” 
“We are also hopeful that 1812 FC can improve opportunities for players who live in more Northern communities in Ontario to have access to this level of play.”

1812 Football Club (Barrie)

1812 Football Club is a newly formed high-performance football club from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. The Club was launched in partnership with Innisfil Soccer Club and in membership with the Huronia District Soccer Association. 1812 Football Club aims to support local player development throughout the Ontario region. The club's creation was inspired by its Supporters Club 'The Kempenfelt Crew' and its desire to see the sport grow in Simcoe and Grey counties.

“We are very excited to join League 1 Ontario and help grow high-performance soccer in Barrie and The Huronia region.” - Andrew Weilgus, Managing Partner, 1812 Football Club.

The League1 men’s license holders approved for 2021 are:

  •  1812 Football Club
  • Alliance United
  • Darby FC
  • FC London
  • Guelph United
  • Hamilton United SC
  • Masters FA Saints
  • North Mississauga SC
  • North Toronto SC
  • Oakville Blue Devils
  • Pickering FC
  • Pro Stars FC
  • Scrosoppi FC
  • Sigma FC
  • St. Catharines Roma Wolves
  • Toronto Skillz
  • Unionville-Milliken SC
  • Vaughan SC
  • Waterloo United
  • Windsor TFC
  • Woodbridge SC

About League1 Ontario
League1 Ontario is the province of Ontario’s pro-am, standards-based, senior league. Founded in 2014, the league began with a ten-team men’s division, which has now grown to 21 teams in the men’s division and includes a separate 14 team women’s division.

League1 Ontario serves as a stepping stone between the high-performance youth level and elite amateur and professional levels of the game. Owned and managed by Canadian Soccer Business (CSB) and sanctioned by FIFA through the domestic bodies of Canada Soccer and Ontario Soccer, League1 Ontario’s primary focus is the showcase and development of Canada’s future stars.