skip navigation

Strike By FC London's Nafar Wins 2019 League1 Ontario Men's Goal Of The Year

By League1 Ontario staff, 11/18/19, 3:00PM EST


After two rounds of voting, a top strike from FC London's Mohammed Reza Nafar against Unionville Milliken SC on May 31 has been selected as the 2019 League1 Ontario Women's Goal of the Year!

Following a public poll that narrowed the field to five top goals from the season, the shortlist advanced to a final round of voting by an internal League1 panel.

In no particular order, the final five shortlist was comprised of:

Federico Leal (Vaughan SC) - Aug 11 v Pro Stars FC

Michael Thornton (Durham United FA) - June 14 v North Mississauga SC

Youssef Zaghloul (Aurora FC) - May 4 v Ottawa South United

Mohammed Reza Nafar (FC London) - May 31 v Unionville Milliken SC

Nicola Russo (North Mississauga SC) - Aug 9 v Windsor TFC 

Check out the video (below) to see the final three selections, concluding with Nafar's mazy run through four defenders!