skip navigation

League1 Women's Players Take 44 All-Star And 11 Individual Distinctions At OUA/ OCAA Year End Awards

By League1 Ontario staff, 11/06/19, 11:30PM EST


As Canadian college and university provincial competition concluded this past weekend, individual and team awards were chosen and a huge number of League1 players found their names on the big trophies. 

On the women's side in the Ontario University Association (OUA) and the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) awards, a remarkable seven individual distinctions were awarded to players with League1 experience - including east and west division MVPs and Coach of The Year East in the OUA, as well as Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year in the OCAA, among others.

Finally, with the Canadian Collegiate Athletics Association (CCAA) Awards also concluding last night, we can add a national Player of the Year and two All-Canadian team selections to this impressive list!

In the OUA West, Teni Odetoyinbo was a key player in York University's Championship title-winning season. She also was a crucial part of Vaughan SC's women's team in the 2019 season, earning a First XI nod in the end-of-season L1O awards.

On the other side of the OUA geographic divide, Mikayla Morton was a major contributor in University of Ottawa's OUA bronze medal campaign. The forward was named MVP East after sticking away 17 goals on the season, with six of them as game-winners, putting herself at the top of the Gee-Gees all-time leaderboard in goals per game (1.21). Formerly of Woodbridge SC in League1, Morton brings important NCAA experience as well after high-scoring exploits with University of Memphis. 

Finally, a well-known name in League1 circles, OUA Coach of the Year East was named as York University's Carmine Isacco.

Isacco, who is also the current Assistant Coach at York9 in the Canadian Premier League (CPL), took the York women to their first OUA title in 10 years after beating the University of Toronto Varsity Blues in the 2019 OUA Final. 

In addition, Isacco is the Director/ Head Coach of the York University varsity soccer program, and is well known for his six coaching honours since as the head of the men's program. Isacco is also a previous Coach of the Year in League1 Ontario, and led Vaughan SC to the 2018 League1 Men's Championship Title. 

Teni Odetoyinbo (York University/ Vaughan SC)(Credit:

In 2019 OCAA women's soccer awards, League1 was well represented again as four players took home individual honours. 

After cleaning up every major award in League1 since joining the league with FC London in 2016, Fanshawe College's Jade Kovacevic was named 2019 CCAA Player of the Year and a CCAA All-Canadian.

Kovacevic had already been named as the 2019 OCAA Player of the Year after taking the 2019 OCAA Scoring Champion title, smashing home 24 goals in nine regular season matches and establishing a new OCAA career record of 103 goals. Kovacevic becomes the first OCAA player to ever break the century mark in career goals. 

In addition, Kovacevic received several other honours, including West Division Player of the Year, West Division Scoring Champion, West Division First-Team All-Star and Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) All-Canadian distinction.

Joining Kovacevic on the podium is the OCAA Rookie of the Year, Centennial College's Nailah Rowe. Rowe, who also played for FC Oshawa in League1, is the co-East Division Scoring Champion and an East Division First Team All-Star after a brilliant freshman season.

Knotted up with Rowe is co-East Division Scoring Champion and East Division Player of the Year, Sona Makulova of Seneca College, who was also named to the illustrious CCAA All-Canadian team. 

A long-time standout in League1 Ontario, Makulova has played for Sanjaxx SC and, most recently, with FC Oshawa. Notably, Makulova has three goals in the 2019 League1 Ontario Goal of the Year competition.

Last, but certainly not least, the East Division Defensive Player of the Year is Durham College's Bailey Colangelo. The defender is also an East Division First Team All-Star, playing in nine matches and only allowed 1.11 goals against per game, including three shutouts. Colangelo played for Darby FC in League1 over the 2018 season.

Jade Kovacevic (Fanshawe College/ FC London)

The awards didn't stop there at provincial level for female League1 players, with a total of 23 All-Stars - 14 First Team All-Stars (nine East, five West) and 9 Second Team All-Stars (five East, four West) - selected in the OUA.

In turn, a total of 21 OCAA All-Star distinctions were handed out to League1 players: 13 First Team All-Stars (seven West, six East) and eight Second Team All-Stars (four West, four East).

Congratulations to all L1O players on the OUA and OCAA year-end award lists! 

Check out a comprehensive list of League1 Ontario players in the OUA and OCAA year-end All-Star lists below:


East Division First Team All-StarsLevanta Staggolis (U of T, Unionville Milliken SC); Mikaela Tierney (Ontario Tech, DeRo United); Jamie Foot (Queens, OSU); Cooper Lee (Ottawa, Sanjaxx); Lidia Bradau (Queens, OSU/ Oakville Blue Devils/ North Miss); Tori Chia (Trent, Darby FC); Ashley Mlinaric (Nipissing, Woodbridge); Mikayla Morton (Ottawa, Woodbridge); Jenny Wolever (U of T, Oakville Blue Devils/ Woodbridge SC).

East Division Second Team All-StarsMargot Shore (Ottawa, OSU); Trinity Esprit (Ottawa, Unionville Milliken SC); Lauren de Jong (Nipissing, FC Oshawa); Jenna Leslie (Queens, Unionville Milliken); Maddie MacKay (U of T, Alliance United).

West Division First Team All-Stars - Teni Odetoyinbo (York, Vaughan); Kalifornia Mitchell (York, Durham United FA); Farkhunda Muhtaj (York, Durham United FA/ Vaughan SC); Vanessa Salvaggio (York, Vaughan); Kiyani Johnson (York, Vaughan SC).

West Division Second Team All-StarsMarilena Spagnolo (Brock, Hamilton United Elite); Jacqueline Madogo (Guelph, West Ottawa); Carling Goold (McMaster, Oakville Blue Devils); Sayan Ladhani (Guelph, Unionville Milliken SC).

Mikayla Morton (Ottawa Gee-Gees/ Woodbridge SC)


West Division First Team All-StarsJade Kovacevic (Fanshawe/ FC London); Nicole Neilsen (Fanshawe/ FC London); Selena Roberts (Fanshawe/ FC London); Chelsea Zavitz (Fanshawe/ FC London); Dominka Philip (Humber/ Woodbridge SC); Giulia Zanardi (Humber/ Aurora FC/ ANB Futbol); Victoria Rodrigues (Sheridan/ North Mississauga); 

East Division First Team All-StarsSona Makulova (Seneca/ FC Oshawa); Nailah Rowe (Centennial/ FC Oshawa); Bailey Colangelo (Durham/ Darby FC); Jordan Burke (Seneca/ FC Oshawa); Alessia Da Silva (Seneca/ Vaughan SC); Raven Edwards-Dowdall (Seneca/ Vaughan SC).

West Division Second Team All-Stars - Amber Lea-Hodgins (Fanshawe/ FC London); Daniella Strano (Fanshawe/ FC London); Catarina Medeiros (Humber/ Vaughan SC); Claudia Piazza (Humber/ Vaughan SC).

East Division Second Team All-Stars - Kristina Anderson (George Brown/ DeRo United); Madison Poole (St. Lawrence/ Kingston Clippers); Shantae Johnson (Seneca/ Darby FC); Korina Lyte (Seneca/ FC Oshawa/ Sanjaxx SC).

Sona Makulova (Seneca College/ FC Oshawa)