skip navigation

League1 Men's Players Sweep Up At OUA/ OCAA Awards With 11 Individual And 55 All-Star Awards

By League1 Ontario staff, 11/05/19, 5:15PM EST


With the Canadian college and university provincial finals all wrapped up this past weekend, individual and team awards have all been handed out and there is a huge number of League1 players with their hands on trophies in Ontario. 

On the men's side in the Ontario University Association (OUA) and the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) awards, a whopping total of eleven individual distinctions were awarded to players with League1 experience - including east and west division MVPs in the OUA, as well as Player of the Year and Coach of the Year in the OCAA.

Finally, with the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) awards also concluded, one men's player has been listed as All-Canadian.

In the OUA, Carleton University's central-midfielder Dario Conte led Carleton to an OUA title and took home MVP in the East division, while University of Guelph forward Alex Zis helped his team to a bronze finish and was selected as OUA West MVP. Both players have had previous League1 experience, with Conte representing OSU and Zis with 2019 appearances for Vaughan SC, and previous appearances for Toronto FC III.

To wrap up the OUA individual awards, University of Toronto Varsity Blues' player, Yousef Helmy, was awarded the Community Service award. Helmy played in League1 for North Mississauga SC in 2018 and 2019 seasons. 

Dario Conte (Credit:

Ten individual awards in the OCAA were handed out to players with League1 Ontario experience. 

At the forefront is CCAA All-Canadian and OCAA Player of the Year: Leaford Allen (Humber College).

Allen also claimed the co-West Scoring Division Champion after an impressive 14 goals in nine matches. Allen's scoring talents are well known to League1 supporters, with the Sigma FC striker going joint-third in 2019 League1 competition after scoring 10 goals in 17 matches. And, tip - one of Allen's strikes in 2019 League1 competition is also up for the 2019 League1 Ontario Goal of the Year Award

OCAA Coach of the Year/ East Division Coach of the Year was also a familiar name for League1 followers. Seneca College's Patrice Gheisar received the honour after a banner year in League1, leading Vaughan SC into the Canadian Championship and an entertaining two-legged competition with CPL side, Halifax Wanderers. 

Leaford Allen (Humber College/ Sigma FC)

Two more awards in both OCAA East and West divisions went to League1 alumni.  

In the East division, Rookie of the Year was handed out to Joshua Lee (Durham College/ Masters FA) and Defensive Player of the Year went to Chris Reilly (Durham College/ Darby FC).

In the West division, the Coach of the Year selection was a familiar face as well. University of Toronto Mississauga's Chris Eveleigh (Durham United FA/ Kingston Clippers) managed in both men's and women's divisions in League1, and had an outstanding season guiding UTM to a much-improved 7-2-0 record in a competitive West division.

Finally, the West Division Defensive Player of the Year is Fanshawe College's Bradley Heath. Heath was a true standout for FC London in 2019 League1 Ontario, helping spearhead the team's advancement all the way to the 2019 League1 Ontario Men's Championship Final. 

The awards didn't stop there at provincial level for League1 players, with a total of 32 All-Stars - 18 First Team All-Stars (eight East, 10 West) and 14 Second Team All-Stars (nine East, five West) - selected in the OUA.

In turn, a total of 23 OCAA All-Star distinctions were handed out to League1 players: 15 First Team All-Stars (10 West, five East) and eight Second Team All-Stars (three West, five East).

Congratulations to all L1O players on the OUA and OCAA year-end award lists! 

Check out a comprehensive list of League1 Ontario players in the OUA and OCAA year-end All-Star lists below:

Kenny Lioutas (Credit:


East Division First Team All-Stars - Ali Ghazanfari (Ryerson, Vaughan SC); Andrew Dias (Ryerson, TFC III); Kenny Lioutas (U of T, Alliance United); Christopher Campoli (Ontario Tech, Woodbridge SC); Dario Conte (Carleton, OSU); Abdallah El-Chanti (Ryerson, Alliance United/ North Toronto); Nikola Stakic (U of T, Alliance United/ Toronto FC III); Gabriel Bitar (Carleton, OSU).

East Division Second Team All-Stars - Sebastian Sgarbossa (U of T, Toronto FC III); Koosha Nazemi (U of T, North Toronto SC); Tony Mikhael (Carleton, OSU); Jacob Begley (Ontario Tech, Alliance United); Alex Meczarski (Ryerson, Aurora FC); Ricky Comba (Carleton, OSU); Faisal Ghaffur (Ryerson, Sigma); Atchu Sivananthan (U of T, Alliance United); Jean Paul Ajala-Alexis (Ontario Tech, Masters FA).

West Division First Team All-StarsMike Argyrides (York, Vaughan SC); Francesco Sinopoli (York, Woodbridge SC); Ian Vidovich (University of Guelph, Aurora FC); Reggie Laryea (York, Sigma FC); Luka Frankovic (University of Waterloo, Oakville Blue Devils); Alex Zis (University of Guelph, Vaughan SC/ Toronto FC III); Jorgo Nika (York, Vaughan SC); Jared Agyemang (Brock University, Aurora FC); Merci Yuma (York, Alliance United/ Sanjaxx); Christopher Jacovou (York, Alliance United/ Aurora FC).

West Division Second Team All-Stars - Kyle Buren (University of Windsor, Windsor TFC); Matthew Monteiro (McMaster University, Oakville Blue Devils/ North Mississauga SC); Patrick Melo (University of Western Ontario, FC London); Manvir Gill (University of Guelph, Oakville Blue Devils); Anthony Chrysanthou (University of Western Ontario, Pro Stars FC).

Merci Yuma (Credit:


East Division First Team All-Stars - Joshua Lee (Durham College, Masters FA); Filipe Vilela (George Brown, Aurora FC/ Oakville Blue Devils); LeRohne Young (Durham College, Darby FC/ Durham United FA); Cale Loughrey (Seneca College, Unionville Milliken SC); Atif Ali (Seneca College, Masters FA).

West Division First-Team All-Stars - Leaford Allen (Humber College, Sigma FC); Ben Vyfschaft (Fanshawe College, FC London); Tomas Alvarez (Fanshawe College, FC London); Federico Leal (Humber College, Vaughan SC/ Woodbridge SC); Max Ferrari (Humber College, Aurora FC); Dominic Szyszka (Fanshawe College, FC London); Bradley Heath (Fanshawe College, FC London); Michael Fayehun (Humber College, Aurora FC/ Woodbridge SC); Adam Czerkawaski (U of T Mississauga, Masters FA); Chester Ashby (Sheridan College, North Mississauga SC).

East Division Second-Team All-Stars Dylan Campbell (Seneca College, Darby FC/ Durham United FA); Michael Washington (Seneca College, Toronto FC III); Colin Reilly (Durham College, Darby FC); Kurtis Kelly (St. Lawrence College, Kingston Clippers); Kevon Grant (Durham College, Durham United FA/ Alliance United).

West Division Second-Team All-Stars - Tyrone Mulder (St. Clair College, Windsor TFC); Anthony Wright (Sheridan College, North Mississauga SC); Cody Green (Humber College, Sigma FC); Ryan Miners (Fanshawe College, FC London).

LeRohne Young (Durham College/ Darby FC)